Frozen Berries, my Bombshell Swimsuit

Hi dears,

I made this swimsuit a couple of years ago using the Bombshell Swimsuit pattern by my dear Heather from Closet Case Files. This piece is inspired by frozen berries, which are perfect for refreshment in the summer heat. I LOVE IT!!

Here are some of Heather’s versions:

The entire blogsphere has made this pattern and the reason is pretty self explanatory, the design is vintage and beautiful, it works great on every figure and the sewalong is the best. Here are a few pics of them (links in caption).

Don’t you love them all?

The construction:

I drafted the pattern in a size 18 and then did a 2″ FBA. Picture1

I’ve written a few posts on how I modify patterns for my body. If you are interested in reading them, you can follow the links below:

1: Determining your bust apex

2: Choosing your pattern size and planning the pattern adjustments

3: Finding the pattern apex, your apex on the pattern and planning the pattern adjustments

For my swimsuit, I highered the back to get more coverage and supportby about 3″.

I copied the cups from one of my favourite bras and built them cups in poly-laminate foam padding from Bra-makers Supplies. This time around, the seamless pieces were attached  with a 3 step zigzag. I attached them to the bodice following the sewalong instructions. My garment is lined with the same powernet as my other swimsuit, and the main fabric was purchased from StretchTex, a specialized fabric store around Chabanel. This time around, I did ask the attendant about fabrics appropriate for swimsuits!

BTW, have you seen Caroline’s Montreal fabric shopping map? If you are around, you should definitely visit!

The result:

Needless to say I ADORE it! ❤

I recommend it to anyone who wants to feel sassy and gorgeous!

Thanks Heather for drafting this baby and making it available for the world to enjoy!

Next time though, I would like to add some more room and support to the cups. I may add some boning at the sides as well as underwires. On that note, here are some resources that may be useful to do that:

Jen from Cashmerette wrote a post on how to do an FBA for this pattern. If you require FBA, you will likely require cups, and I’ve found a mini tutorial on putting a bra into a swimsuit by Jen as well as a few other useful resources on underwires and attachment of swim cups here. Tasia also wrote a post on pear-shaping the pattern.

That’s it for today folks!

I hope you are enjoying the weather! My bougainvillea is flowering! ❤

Isn’t it lovely??

Do you like my swimsuit? Have you made this pattern before? What are some of your favourite summer activities?

❤ M

19 Comments Add yours

  1. Andie W. says:

    Wow! Wow! Wow! It looks amazing on you! I’d love to see the interior to see the bra insertion. I think that’s the part of making a swimsuit that I can’t wrap my head around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good call my darling!
      I’ll get some pics of both of the swimsuits and I’ll make an update this weekend. 🙂
      Ciao bella!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my god, that picture of frozen raspberries has my mouth watering like crazy! What an awesome name for this swimsuit.

    Your Bombshell looks great on you! I’d like to try swimwear too, but I tend to be pretty active in my swimsuits, so I’d need a lot of bust support. Curious for your follow-up post on the bra insertion!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Nicole, thanks for stopping by! I’ll be posting pictures of the insides of the bra as an update on this post this weekend. You can come back to it next week if you want to see the inside of this as well as the ocean blue. I’ll also be working on the updated version with the support and post that once it’s done. 🙂 Cheers!

      Like

  3. carlalissa says:

    You are rocking on this one!!! Bomb-babe for sure!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Carla! 🙂

      Like

  4. froebelina says:

    Great collection of Bombshells! And yours looks lovely! It fits you so well and the fabric is gorgeous! Also you seem to feel very comfortable in it and I like that!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather Lou says:

    YOU LOOK FABULOUS!!!! xo Great job grading babe.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for creating such a beautiful pattern that we can all enjoy!!

      Like

  6. Andrea says:

    Hi Monserrattt, you look fabulous in that sweet new suit you made, I love it! Would love to see the inside bra parts also. I found you from the Craftsy class on Bramaking by Beverly Johnson. Your Bramaking is on fire!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Andrea! 🙂 I’ll update the posts with pics of the insides this weekend. 🙂

      Like

  7. Once again, more awesomeness from you chica!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Abbey! 🙂 your muy linda! 😉

      Like

  8. myriam says:

    Lovely! and wow, your bougainvillea is amazing! it makes up for the begonia not flowering, huh? hahaha. I misssssssssss you!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m currently sewing up the afghan fabric Abu brought me back last year. I’ll let you know how that goes – last night, I poked holes through the fabric and managed to destroy some of the embroidery… 😦 But I think I can fix it! I love you chica!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi my darling!! ❤ I love to see your comments!!
      I miss you too!! I can't wait to see what you are sewing, finally getting some time for it?! I'm sure whatever you make will be lovely!! 🙂

      ❤ M

      Like

  9. K-Line says:

    It’s terrific!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks K! I have enjoyed wearing it quite a bit! 😉

      Like

  10. Tanya Maile says:

    You are quite the bombshell in that suit! I think that’s one of my favorite versions! You always look so freakin’ happy and awesome in your photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks my darling! You’re the sweetest with your comments! 😉

      Like

Leave a comment