Blue Ocean swimsuit, Butterik B5795

Hi dears,

Today I will show you my Blue Ocean swimsuit made from the Butterick  B5795 pattern (version D). This piece is inspired by my love for the ocean. I thought it might be a good idea to show it to you, just so you can picture it on someone other than the model on the envelope. Especially since I haven’t found anyone else making this pattern.

Since this was my first time making a swimsuit I should warn you there are some imperfections to it, but I am really quite pleased with how it turned out.

The construction:

According to my measurements, I decided to draft a 24W with a D cup.

Picture2

This swimsuit was built using a heavy lycra, which I thought would provide good support and coverage. It is lined in a rather thick power net and the cups are built in poly laminate foam padding from Bra-makers Supplies. The main fabric and the powernet were both from remnants I bought at Chabanel 99.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Insideout

The result:

I quite like this swimsuit, I have worn it countless times. It has been a LOYAL FRIEND to me! I LOVE the support that the thick powernet provides.

There are, however,  a few things to mention: since the main fabric is really heavy, it sags a bit while wet and takes a good while to dry. I had to reduce the top of the arm hole seam a couple of inches so that I would feel enough support for my breasts. The cup seam finish is rather low quality, since I folded the seams of the foam instead of cutting them away.

The pattern instructions are quite clear and throrough and the cups are drafted for multiple sizes (A – D). I strongly recommend this pattern for beginners. Just make sure you choose the right fabrics to work with. Ask the attendant in the fabric shop.

That’s it for today folks! Enjoy your weekend!

What do you think about it? Have you made your swimsuits? Do you like them? Do you swim often? Are there any patterns you would recommend?

M

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Fröbelina says:

    Ohhh the beach looks lovely and so does your new swimsuit, I really like the color! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks my darling, it was in a little and beautiful beach in Australia. The place is Hanson Bay

      Like

  2. Andrea says:

    Great looking bathing suit, and the beach is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Andrea, we were in Hanson bay, South Australia. Gorgeous beaches! 🙂

      Like

  3. This looks great – I love the detail of the gathers on one side. The blue you chose looks lovely on you too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Genny! I quite liked the neckline and the gathering. 🙂

      Like

  4. L says:

    Thanks for your lovely photo-rich post! Monica at Bravobellabras.com just put out two new swimsuit patterns – I purchased but have not tried them yet, but I suspect they are great! I rarely got big 4 swim patterns to work for me – my favorite brand is Kwik Sew. When I was wearing larger sizes I used Kwik Sew 3072 and 2690. KS 3064 is styled like your Ocean Blue. The Kwik Sew Swim and Actionwear book has a number of patterns included and great fit instructions. Many KS patterns are OOP but readily available on EBAY. My second favorite brand had been Stretch and Sew, but the KS fit was better. My best fit was obtained merging my custom-fit underwire bra, a KS 3072 and Lee-Ann Burgess’ “Making Beautiful Swimwear” book as a guide – I got a perfect suit that supported and didn’t sag when wet. I loved it! I found I needed 1 size smaller than measurements in KS swim patterns.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi L,

      It’s great to see your comments, I love all the resources you share!! Thank you!

      I did take a look at the swimsuits from BravoBella, but I don’t think I’ll try them any time soon.

      I’ll check on my library at home whether I have any books which could direct me on merging a custom-fit underwire bra with a swimsuit, otherwise, I will definitely be getting the swimwear book you recommend.

      The other idea is to make one of the bra patterns I’ve posted in swimwear fabrics. Do you have any thoguths about this?

      Thanks again! 🙂

      M

      Like

  5. Andie W. says:

    I have this pattern! It’s great to see it made up. I’ve only seen a couple other versions on blogs. You look fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my darling! 🙂

      Like

  6. Tanya Maile says:

    So lovely and that color really looks gorgeous on you! And you and your husband are so darn cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 🙂 thanks Tanya! In that picture the water was really, really cold! It was in a beautiful beach in Australia.

      Like

Leave a Reply

