Black Mojito!

Hello my darlings,

Today I bring you my “Black Mojito” pants. This make is based on the stylish Moji pattern, the latest pants pattern from Seamwork founded by Sarai Mitnick, a genius entrepreneur!

If you haven’t heard the recent episodes on Seamwork Radio, you definitely should!

As previously, I modified the pattern following Kathleen Cheetham’s class on Plus Size Pant Fitting.

Pattern modifications:

Based on modifications to my last Sallie and considering that this pattern is wool, these were the pattern modifications I used:

  • 3″ Full hip adjustment
  • 1″ full tummy adjustment
  • 3″ full derrière adjustment (FDA)

I also drafted the pocket to be sewn inside.

Results:

At first, I thought I had over-modified the pattern and the pants had ended up being too loose, but actually, after looking at the pictures, I LOVE it!! ❤

In the pictures above, I’m wearing it with my Gretie’s portrait blouse (unblogged).  It goes well with every top. I have been wearing it a whole lot and I can say it is pretty darn comfortable!!!

This new incursion into pants pattern modifications is giving me the courage to tackle more pants patterns! Yeiiii, pants in my wardrobe!!

How do you like it? Have you made this pattern before? Are you afraid of pants?

That’s it for today folks!

Have a terrific long- “Canadian Thanksgiving” weekend! Thank you for reading!

❤ M

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Love both of these Mon! The best part about sewing for yourself is when you figure out how to get the style you want to fit you. And these pants look nice on you and comfy too. Love the Betty Boop top.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Abbey, sewing for myself totally changed my perception of myself and how I feel in clothes. It really is fantastic! 🙂

      Like

  2. froebelina says:

    Hey M! I think those pants look terrific, great job! I love sewing pants, I bought some more denim today and I can’t wait to get started, especially after seeing yours, great inspiration!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are such an inspiration with your pants Kat! 🙂 I love to see your makes!

      Like

  3. lagrancostanza says:

    Those pants are super cute! I wish I could sew pants, but I tried to make shorts last year and it was a disaster, so now I’m afraid of pants … The Betty Boop top is so cool, by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehehe!! It was exactly the same for me. I’m just starting to get more confident with pants. They can be quite tricky! recommend you to check the Craftsy class I talked about in the post. Although the teacher is not too percise, she knows the tricks. It will give you a good idea of what you have to do. Take notes and experment which are the modifications that work best for you.

      Like

  4. STH says:

    The pants look great on you! I’m going to have to get that Craftsy class; I could really use the help.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely worth to try! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  5. nanetiblogsite says:

    I love them! Top and the Moji! I also bought Kathleen Cheetham’s course and now I want to draw my first trousers. I thougt to make pajamas from Moji but it looks like that this is also a fine pattern for outside. Thanks for your inspirations 🙂

    Best wishes from Germany
    Christiane

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I just signed up for that Craftsy class! I’ve watched it through and have been thinking about what pattern to try things out on. Your pants came out really nice! I might have to take a leaf out of your book and try this. I’m always thrilled when I see you’ve updated. It’s so nice to see something on a body similar to mine!

    Like

    1. Sweet! It’s a very simple pattern, ideal to try modifications. I actually started with the pants of the Salie jumpsuit and was quite surprised with the results. You may actually want to start with a knit pattern and increase the extensions a little bit when you work with wovens. 😉
      Good luck! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment