Feeling good in my skin: Bras #easeintomotherhood

Hello beautiful people,

The #easeintomotherhood event has been going strong, and one of the most common things mothers write about is body changes. Feeling good in my skin has been … an interesting journey… In all sincerity, I miss the confidence in my body that sewing had brought to my life. I miss the happy feeling of wearing me-made garments that make me feel comfortable and beautiful, but for the last year or so, with so little time to sew it has been really hard to get any sewing done. For the last year or so, I needed a nursing friendly wardrobe in which I could feel comfortable, so I ended up buying one, which ended up taking away some of that blissful feeling. I tell myself, “IT’S JUST A PHASE”, right?!

Well, today I want to share something I’m very excited about! We have been weaning Emilia little by little over the last few months and I’m now able to wear normal clothes and bras during the day. While that means a little sadness because breastfeeding will come to an end at some point in the near future, that also means that it’s time to go back to the bra making front!! Because bras are so much quicker to make than many other garments!

To get going, I made a couple new bras using the Classic Pin-up Girls Bra Pattern and bra making kits from Bra Makers Supplies. Even if my measurements have changed, I now have a custom fitted pattern, but that’s a story for a different post.

 

 

I just love them!! I’m sooooo happy that I can wear underwired self-made bras and normal clothes!! Bras are such a useful little part of our wardrobes!!

 

Have you dared to start bra-making? What role have everyday bras played in your life?

 

I hope you are having a great weekend! 🙂

 


M

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Beck says:

    I’m too scared to try bra-making, I’m worried I will love it and it will open a whole new Pandora’s box of me-made desires! And cheers to that feeling of throwing off the nursing bra!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehehe, give it a try!!it is one of my greatest passions!!♡

      Like

  2. Dalia says:

    “Because bras are so much quicker to make than many other garments!”

    Really? Because they seem to be really tricky and finicky to me! Never thought about bra-making before, because though I was on the highest end of the “normal” sizes, I never had problems finding a good bra. Now, I am decidedly in the “Special Sizes”-Section- and man, these are expensive! When people say kids are expensive, I never thought underwear would have an extra column in the budget! 😛

    Like

    1. They really are, they are small seams that are symetric and if you buy a good kit, you got all you need to make one in the same bag!
      I do have a lot of trouble finding a good bra, and as you mention they really are expensive. So it’s best for me to make them + I can use any color I like! 🙂
      You definitely should give it a try! I’m now converted to the point of obsession!
      Start with good instruction and a good kit. I recommend the craftsy classes. The teacher is the best!

      Cheers!
      M

      Like

  3. froebelina says:

    I’m glad you finally found the opportunity to get into sewing again 🙂 Those bras look great, my favourite colors, and you look great in them!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Accordion3 says:

    Looking awesome Monserratt!!

    I ceased breastfeeding with a sense of relief mingled with sadness. I was glad to be able to do it, but also glad to finish.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, it’s a mourning process to know that you won’t have that time to be with your baby any longer. We’re taking our time.

      Like

  5. Becky says:

    I tried some bra making earlier this year, to make some nursing bras. All of my store bought ones started going bad before my first pregnancy was even over! I’m happy with how they turned out, but the process felt really fiddly to me. I’m torn about whether to try again once I’m done nursing. If I can find a foam cup pattern that works for me, maybe, because I’m not liking having the seams visible under my knit tops. The color of your bra is really fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Becky! It’s possible to make foam cup bras from a soft one. The main thing is actually having a pattern that fits you properly. There are several tutorials online including a very good Craftsy class.

      Like

Leave a Reply

