Mama gets a Turner/ Nursing dress modifications

Hi friends, long time no see!!

It has been a tad strange to live in my post-baby body, and while I’m experiencing the happiest moments of my life I can recall, when I look at myself in the mirror, I sometimes don’t seem to feel as comfortable as I used to in my body.

My body has been doing amazing things and I should feel proud and happy about it. It is amazing to see what it is able to do every day! It’s just perfect!!

To kick start back in this self love journey, I made myself a mama-friendly Turner NURSING dress. AND I LOVE IT!!

dsc03970

Please excuse the stains on the dress, it’s really hard to take pics of my outfits now that they get spit on or touched with the dirty hands of this little monster 5 mins in the wearing…

emi-dec-2016-23

So, please allow your eyes to overlook stains…

Ok, so here are the details:

This dress is based on the beautiful Turner dress by Cashmerette modified for nursing in style (details below). It’s sewn in a Solid Rayon Knit from Craftsy.

 

Pattern modifications:

turner-nursing-diagram

The front bodice will have an upper and a lower layer. The lower layer needs 2 holes for the breasts to come out while breast feeding, and the upper layer stays the way it is drafted. To trace the hole for the breasts in the lower layer, roughly position the front bodice pattern piece on your chest.

 

Assembly notes:

Cut the following pieces:

turner-nursing-diagram-2

To assemble the bodice follow these steps:

  • join the front bodice lower layers right sides out and sew the breast holes together to stabilize them. You can further stabilize them by adding transparent elastic to the lining side.

 

celebration-nursing-turner-7

  • hem the bottom of the upper layer of the front bodice
  • treat the new lower layer as the front bodice lining and follow the pattern or sewalong instructions. Make sure that the elastics in the holes for the breasts face your skin (this is the right side of the lining).

The dress bodice should look like this when finished:

celebration-nursing-turner-9

Gorgeous, isn’t it?!

 

Here are some pictures of my final product with the pink fabric:

 

Que tal?! I love it!! There is one single thing that I will have to change for my next version, the center back of the skirt is not parallel to the floor, so I will elongate the center back of the bodice to improve that.

What are your thoughts? Do you love hot pink as much as I do? Do you know of any nursing dress patterns or tutorials?

Thanks my loves!

 

❀

M

 

 

26 Comments Add yours

  1. Lookin good mama! Yes, I probably love the hot pink as much as you do πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s just such a great color for most skin tones! ❀

      Like

  2. Meg says:

    Love the pink on you! And what a clever and functional hack you did to this pattern!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Meg! With so limited time to sew I have to pick my battles carefully. Sad to say, eventhough I try to do it, I just messed up with the wrong fabric for my next version of this! 😦

      Like

  3. cosmiccaro says:

    Oh, I love this color on you (and me!) ; It’s my all time favorite! And it is such a clever way to transform it into a nursing dress πŸ˜€ Bravo!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha, that’s true! I have been thinking about a color palette lately and this color is definitely on the top of the list along with purple and blue… I think mustard has got to make it up there too, but I just don’t own any garments in that color yet! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  4. Mim says:

    Looks fantastic! I’m long past the nursing stage but I wish this had been around back then.

    And that pink looks great on you – as does motherhood!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. yes I love hot pink as much and it looks great on you and I had not noticed the stains before you mentioning them and your little one is so very cute!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Aida! I get concious about them when I want to take my pics!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You a genius! A beautiful genius!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Jen, I really love this dress ❀ It gets worn as soon as it comes out of the dryer. πŸ˜‰

      Like

  7. froebelina says:

    Great to hear from you πŸ™‚ I’m glad you’re happy and I think too you should be proud of your body,thanks for being so honest! And thank you too for that cute picture of Emilia! She seems to enjoy herself and her food, hehe. You are looking great too, I love that color and it distracts from every stain! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love you so much and missed seeing your smiling face, and that boob reveal is priceless! Glad you’re squeezing in some sewing time with your beautiful angel. This is the kind of dress that cheers you up everytime you wear it! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you my love!! I do wear it right after it gets out of the drier! πŸ˜‰
      I’ve missed you so much!! I have some plans we should gather for a ladies game nigth or something!! I’ll send the message!! πŸ˜‰
      ❀

      Like

  9. Abbey says:

    Mon, you are so cute though! Well not as cute as miss emilia, but I love all your poses! This is a brilliant hack! And this colour is fabulous on you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hehehehe, thanks Abbey! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  10. Tamara says:

    Love your version! And the pink, well I have the same colour only in a different knit as it is just to pretty resist. Now you need to hack the Washington dress too and you have a few more dresses! I did a nursing hack for this one and did my holes slightly differently. They still worked but I think I will try your method out next time. I didn’t sew nursing clothes when I had my first two babies but it is so rewarding to make them yourself (I put myself aside due to the lack of curvy girl patterns at the time). I mucked my first turner up by using a cheap stripe that was a bit see through. I like solids better anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Renee says:

    Love the pink. It’s so fun and cheerful and distracts from the stains. I did a very similar hack to the coco dress but I only did an extra layer on the front bodice and not the back but the pattern is unlined. Other moms always want to know where I got it. Lucky us we can sew. Your baby has your beautiful eyes and bright smile. Way to keep that baby happy and healthy. Megan Nielsen has a maternity blog that has some great nursing hack ideas. Looking forward to your next post when youre ready.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Renee! Yes, I’ve found a few sewing blogger mammas with good hacks! Have you seen sozowhatdoyouknow.bkogspot.ca

      Like

      1. RenΓ©e says:

        Yes, I love her blog. I’ve definitely used her tutorials on adapting shirts to make them maternity friendly. I find her reviews honest and helpful as well. If I’m ever pregnant again, I might get her maternity cami pattern. I’m still struggling to incorporate sewing time into my life but I’ll be following along in the meantime for inspiration.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Jessica says:

    Oh, this is just what I needed! I’m definitely going to have to try this… and the color looks lovely on you! If I wore it I’d look like a lobster, lol…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jess,
      I’m glad it’s useful. Lemme know how it goes and if you have any questions! πŸ˜‰

      Like

  13. Kathy (never stop learning) says:

    How clever you are. I wish things like this had been available 30 years ago when I had my kids. You look lovely, and your dress does, also. Congrats on the little one in your life. When they say miracles happen every day, they MUST mean babies! And LOVE your name. Reminds me of a lovely story I once heard told by the Spanish opera singer of the same name. Finding your blog brought a smile to my face more than once today.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Kathy, how lovely of you ! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

