Wonder Woman inspired bra

Hi dears,

Today I bring you a bra inspired in Wonder Woman (WW) one of my great childhood inspirations. This bra is a mish-mash of patterns: the Bravo Bra #2 I made last week (modified) and the Classic Full Band Bra from Bra-makers Supplies I posted the week before. This time, I drafted a “Y back with key hole” or a racer back following the class on bra design techniques by Beverly Johnson in Craftsy.

Back in January my dear Andie from Sew Pretty in Pink posted about her admiration for Wonder Woman and made an outfit inspired in her. Andie’s post inspired me!

Although I’m not nearly as fan of WW now that I’m older, I do remember I used to wear my WW costume pretty often and it made me feel strong and mighty!! I don’t have a picture of me as WW. If my dad finds one I may be able to post it for you. In the meantime, a picture of a girl with a similar costume should suffice.

kids-wonder-woman-costume

Anyways, onto the craft!

The construction:

This bra was built using:

– the band from the Classic Full Band Bra from Bra-makers Supplies which I extended a total 1.5″ along the back band for my stardust bra.

– the cups from the Bravo Bra #2 heavily modified from the muslin to make them cover my breasts better, extend the circumference to fit the new band and shape them more like-Madonna.

Because… if I was WW, I would like to wear cups like that too!

– I drafted a “Y back with key hole” following the class on bra design techniques by Beverly Johnson in Craftsy.

Voilà!

I am crazy in LOVE with this bra!! Superhero-like feelings come to me when I wear it! I adore the fit of the band and the back as well as the cup shape. I think it is gorgeous!! ❤

That’s it for today folks!

What do you think about it? Have you tried adding design elements to your bras? Are you fan of any super heroes? Do you have any outfits inspired in them? Did you use to dress like a superhero when you were a kid?

❤ M

11 Comments Add yours

  1. TraciP says:

    You are amazing!! I love it when I see that I have a new bra post by you in my reader. I am just getting started sewing bras and so far don’t have the fit in a wearable stage, but you inspire me to keep trying. Thank you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fröbelina says:

    Hey Wonderwoman! You look great in your new bra! I need to give bra sewing another try!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You gotta do it Kat! I’m loving it! 😉

      Like

  3. L says:

    looks wonderful! You are so bold with your colors. How does that key hole back feel?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi L,
      it feels good, I drafted the keyhole to be circular, but it becomes deformed with the stetch. I do believe the racrer back makes it more supportive.

      The straps were supposed to be done in elastic and go from the top of the Y- to the front cup. I thought making them in a more stable material would be better, so I ended up with a short piece of elastic to adjust the bra and probably more adjusting room would be better. I’m tempted to try lining the straps with foam next time. What do you think?

      Like

  4. Kathy says:

    You really inspire me. I want to try this. I’m also thinking about some of the craftys sewing classes. What are your thoughts on the classes they offer? I’m very interested in a pants/Jean fitting.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Kathy,
      My experience with Craftsy is pretty good. The technical support is pretty awesome. You purchase classes you find interesting and have 30 days to return them if you don’t like them. Very often you find discounts. If the class you are looking for is not discounted, just wait for it to be. You shouldn’t pay more than 30$ for the class you want.
      Many of the instructors are pretty experienced and good teachers. I have to say there are a few I don’t like, but I just asked for my money back and stayed away from their classes.
      I have purchased the class for Jeans fitting that you mentioned. Although I haven’t watched it fully, I quite liked the instructor. She seems very clear and well done. I’m waiting for the inspiration to give the Ginger pattern a try ans I will refer to the class when I get to the fitting stage.

      Like

  5. L says:

    I have done foam-lined straps before, although I must admit I prefer the interfaced triple layer fabric straps with no elastic. I find them more comfy and supportive. Elastic digs into my flesh.

    Like

    1. Hi L,
      Thanks for your comment! 🙂
      What material do you use for the interfacing??
      I would like to give it a try. Do you grade the seams before sewing the elastic?

      Like

  6. garnet49 says:

    Well done! Another beautiful job. This bra looks awesome on you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

