Go marbles with Mabel!!

Hi my darlings,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything started at the beginning of the month with the season of separates organized by the CSC.Season-of-separates-square-bannerLet’s just say I didn’t even know that skirts were missing in my wardrobe and I was planning to live the summer mainly in dresses and shorts. After participating in the tops challenge with three of my recently sewn blouses, I decided I would give the skirts challenge a try.

I decided to make pencil skrits, since the one I have in my wardrobe comes out every time I needed to feel “skirtly”. I had Mabel by Colette in my stash of patterns and I decided to give it a try.

I mean… Have you seen Heather’s, Meg’s and Sophie’s Mabels? Don’t you love them??

I guess I got a little excited about making these… You’ll see…

Pattern size:

I won’t go into the details on the selection of the pattern size because I think a tutorial on that would be in order. Suffices to say that I cut and constructed a 2XL pattern size.

Modifications:

This time around there were no modifications to the pattern. Only to the construction process, since my muslin fabric did not have good recovery, I decided to add a “strong clear crystal jelly elastic” 0.5″ wide to the top of the waistband and understitch it using a 3 step zigzag before turning it right side out.

Note: this is a good tutorial on why and how to do understitchin in woven fabrics.

The results:

I have to say… I went a little bit crazy about it once I started making these… I LOVE it!!

I ended up in love with the pattern, I love the style, the fit, the versatility and the many possibilities to play with the pattern blocks!

Have you gone marbles with Mabel?? What was your experience?

 

M

14 Comments Add yours

  1. These look so cute and comfy–I especially love the one with the big flowers. That outfit is so pretty on you!

    Like

    1. Hi my dear STH, you and I both love our floral fabrics! 🙂
      Have a fun weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marianne says:

    O yes! I’ve made three so far. You just reminded me I need a few colourful Mabels for summer. Love your floral skirt!

    Like

    1. Thanks Marianne,
      I’m actually working on some pattern alterations in order to make some interesting solid pieces using this same pattern. Florals are always good additions to our wardrobes. They make me smile. 🙂

      Like

  3. Faye Lewis says:

    I’ve made 3 and absolutely adore Mable. Yours are gorgeous!

    Like

    1. Hi Faye,
      I certainly became addicted to this pattern! 😉
      Cheers!

      Like

  4. Andie L. says:

    So many great new skirts! And they look lovely on you. I love those side panels on a few of the versions. 🙂 Love seeing your gorgeous smiley self. 😀

    Like

    1. Thanks my darling! 😉
      I hope you’re having a great week! Can’t wait to see more about your wedding!!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Mags says:

    I’ve made 8′ but my latest (just blogged about it is a hack with flare! Love your funky skirts.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. megret1979 says:

    Thanks for linking to my Mabel! I adore all your skirts- the floral is my favorite, though! Reminds me I should make another Mabel…

    Like

    1. Thanks Meg! I love all your creations! 🙂
      I’m glad we are now in contact! 😉

      Like

  7. These are so cutesy! Really inspiring work! I too especially love the floral one and the geometric/ turquoise colour block one.

    Like

    1. Thanks Abbey! 🙂
      It’s funny how so many people have symilar taste. Almost everyone liked the floral. My favourite though, is the geometric color block you mentioned. 😉
      Cheers!
      M

      Like

Leave a Reply

