Copycat pants!!!

Hi dears,

I had been considering making a pair of pants for quite a while now. However, I was unsure about how to grade the commercially available patterns to fit my body (there are not many tutorials for grading pants for plus sizes out there) and I have never really tried using a pattern drafted for my size.

Jacqueline, my sewing guru, recommended to try grading making sure leave the crutch wasn’t changed (because obviously that is the hardest part to get right). I proceeded to grade a commercially available pattern by extending the side seams and the crutch length, but that muslin turned out unsuccessful (so much so that I didn’t even take pictures…).

Jacqueline then suggested to copy the pattern from a ready to wear (RTW) pair that fitted well.  I asked her to teach me how to do it, and we got ourselves started on a woven denim pair of pants. Copying the basic front and back pieces from the RTW pattern was super easy. If you are interested in the technique, I can post a tutorial on how to do it.

After the basic pieces of the pattern draft were copied, I started the muslin in stretchy denim (~3%) leaving 1″ seams in case there needed to be any fitting. The pattern came together very easily and the fit was pretty much on the spot except for a few darts required to add shaping at the waist back. I interfaced the waistband and added a zipper at the side seam. The seams were finished serged using Heather’s tutorial.

The results:

 

I really like these pair of pants!! I never thought that drafting the pattern from a ready to wear pair would be such a bliss. The alterations were minimal and the fit is 100% better than that of many other pants I have tried to make from commercially available patterns. I love them, they are neat and comfortable to wear. 🙂

I will definitely be trying this method with other RTW pants. For next versions, I will also try to draft a proper zip fly at the front as well as front and back pockets.

Overall, making these pants was great fun!

 

Do you like these? Have you ever made a pair pants by copying a RTW pattern?

Have a nice weekend!!

M

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Heather Lou says:

    Yay! I’m so glad that technique worked! They look great. ps. sorry I didn’t make it yesterday…. I had a student crit at my old school followed by birthday drinks and I totally forgot to text you that I wasn’t coming!

    Like

    1. 🙂 Thanks my darling, we’ll get to see eachother some other time. Turns out neither Myriam or I went… We all had either work or other stuff to do. The class was probably low in attendance in the end.
      M

      Like

  2. myriam says:

    Aha! I knew the truth would come out! Now the world knows you are standing on a tiny table for your pics! 😀
    Count one vote for the how to copy your RTW pants tutorial 🙂 It really was so unbelievably straightforward that I kind of don’t even want to try sewing pants from a pattern.

    Like

    1. Ohhhh!!! Noooo!!! Now you know all my secrets!!! 😉
      I have a GRRREAT idea!!! We can take the pics for it together during the weekend, we could do it from the pair of patns you want to get the pattern from!!
      Let me know when you would be available.
      Love,
      M

      Like

  3. gibbylet says:

    I’d totally enjoy a tutorial on that! Those pants look great too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Gibby, I’ll work on it! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

