Call it Spring

Hi guys,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really miss the good weather here in Montreal. We had snow yesterday morning (can you believe that??) and all I can look forward are the above 10C temperatures. To try to make the waiting more soothing I made a spring inspired top using Colette’s Jasmine top. This muslin version of the top is made out of a material similar to cashmere wool (with a texture very symilar to pashmina, only this time thinner) and with lots and lots of flowers and vibrant colors. I loved this fabric the minute I saw it. It came out of a robe I purchased at the thrift store hoping that it would contain enough fabric to upcycle to something like this. Win!

cp1018-jasmine-03-med-a12da43b8afd213fb290e56bf1937925
Jasmine by Colette

Selecting the pattern size:

To select my pattern size, as usual, I compared my body measurements to those of the pattern (see table below). I selected the pattern size based on the pattern bust size and my chest measurement as we have previously discussed. I chose to go for a size 16.Picture7

Pattern modifications:

Based on the differences between the pattern size and my measurements, I had to add up to 3″ at the bust and waist and 6″ at the waist and hips. The difference between these two numbers is 3″, so I decided to grade 3″ total from the armhole to the hips smoothly (over the 4 side seams: 3/4″ per seam making sure to add this amount at the waist and hip). I then located the position of my apex on the pattern, did a full bust adjustment (FBA) of 1.5″ (to add 3″ total at the bust) extending all the way from the apex to the hip. I finally shifted the darts towards my bust apex and proceeded to make my muslin.

Note: I did the FBA following this tutorial by the CSC.

The result:

I love how flowy and colorful this blouse is and I like how the neckline contrasts with the main fabric.

 

Modifications based on this muslin:

The blouse fitted almost perfectly. I just had a tad of gaping at the neck line which I will correct in my next version by taking in ~1/4″. Everything else fell at the right place.

 

How do you like this muslin? Are you enjoying good weather? Do you have any spring clothing? Have you seen Mabel’s version of this blouse? Isn’t it lovely??

 

I’ll come back next week with my next version of this blouse and more ideas! Have fun and let me know if you make this pattern!

 

M

8 Comments Add yours

  1. So pretty and how great is that fabric?!? Love all that gorgeous color! Your pictures are always so fun and full of energy. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks STH! I’m glad you like the blouse, and the pictures. 🙂 You will probably soon see how I strive to take some of the pics. 😉 Hope you are having a nice weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I would love to see how you take your pictures–they are really great. Have a good weekend!

        Like

  2. Fröbelina says:

    I really love your photos! You always seem to have so much fun! Your blouse looks great and I hope you get to wear it soon 🙂

    Like

  3. Hi Kat, I do love to play catwalk and have D take pictures of me in my outfits. We have lots of fun! 😉
    M

    Like

  4. splendidcakes says:

    You and the blouse are so darn cute!! I love your enthusiasm- it is truly contagious, and I need it 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! I love to share my enthusiasm with you!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

